Available with the following Subscriptions: All Subscriptions
Available for the following Project Roles: All Roles
The Comments feature is a powerful collaboration tool that allows project teams to communicate seamlessly within a Scenario. Users can flag points in 3D for review, provide feedback, and discuss project details directly in the Site Plan/Scenario. With embedded @mentions, hyperlinks, and in-model 3D viewpoints, users can engage in real-time discussions and decision-making. Nested responses, automatic email notifications, and the ability to resolve comments streamline the review process, ensuring efficient collaboration.
This user guide contains the following sections:
- Adding a Comment
- Comments Side Sheet
- View Comment
- Copy Link to Comment
- Delete Comment
- Replying to a comment
- Editing an Existing Comment
- Resolving a Comment
- Unresolving a Comment
Adding a Comment
-
Comments are tied to 3D objects and specific points in time. Find the Milestone where you wish to add a Comment, then click Comments (1) from the Toolbar. The Comments Sidesheet will open on the right. Click the Add Comment button (2).
-
After clicking Add Comment the right side panel will change to a new comment and automatically set the Comment's thumbnail to the current 3D view. Navigate in 3D to the point of interest, taking time to frame the view so it captures the entire area of interest this will be the view collaborators will see when they review your comment.
In 3D click the point of interest to drop the comment pin (1), then click Retake Viewpoint (2) to capture the new point of view which will also update the thumbnail.
Type your comments in the text field (3), consider using @mentions and pasting in a hyperlink.
To save the comment, hit Submit (4). Tagged users will instantly receive a notification via email containing the comment text, Milestone and Scenario as well as a direct link to the comment.
💡Note: When typing your comment you may use the @ button to display a list of taggable collaborators, use the 🔗button to display link formatting options, you can choose to add a hyperlink to a specific word instead of pasting the URL directly in the text field.
- After clicking Submit your comment will be displayed in the comments list on a comment card which includes the name of the user who created the comment, the time stamp of when it was created, which Milestone the comment pertains to, the thumbnail image and the comment text.
Comments Side Sheet
Click Comments (1) from the Toolbar to open the Comments Sidesheet. It displays Comments from all Milestones in the Scenario, ordered by creation date from newest to oldest.
Click the 3 dot menu (2) on a Comment card in the Sidesheet to display the available actions: View, Edit, Copy link, Reply, Resolve, and Delete comment.
The Comments' pin associated with the current Milestones appear in the 3D Space. Single-click a pin to highlight it and center the corresponding Comment card in the Sidesheet.
💡Note: The View Comment (3), Reply (4), and Resolve (5) actions are also available as buttons in the Sidesheet Toolbar.
View Comment
There are multiple ways to view Comments. In the list find the Comment you wish to view and select it, or single-click the Comment pin in 3D and the list will auto-center on the Comment card and highlight it too meaning it is selected. Once the Comment card is selected you have 3 ways to view it:
- Double clicking the Comment card.
- Click the View Comment (1) button.
- Click the 3 dot menu (2) on the Comment card, and select View (3).
Copy Link to Comment
Find the Comment for which you want to copy a link. Alternatively, single-click its pin in the 3D Space to select the corresponding Comment card.
Click the 3 dot menu (1) on the selected Comment card and select Copy link (2). The link is copied to your clipboard and can be pasted into emails, chats, or other text fields.
Delete Comment
Find the Comment you want to delete, or single-click its pin in the 3D Space to select the corresponding Comment card.
Click the 3 dot menu (1) on the selected Comment card and select Delete comment (2). A deleted Comment cannot be restored. If you want to retain a record of a Comment, consider Resolving it instead of Deleting it.
You can also delete a Comment while editing it. See Editing an Existing Comment. The ability to delete Comments depends on the permissions assigned at the project level.
Replying to a Comment
There are multiple ways to reply to a Comment. Find and select the Comment you want to reply to. Alternatively, single-click its pin in the 3D Space. The Comments list automatically centers on the corresponding Comment card and highlights it to indicate that it is selected.
Once the Comment card is selected, you can reply in any of the following ways:
- Double clicking the Comment card.
- Click the Reply button (1) on the Sidesheet Toolbar.
- Clicking the 3 dot menu (2) on the Comment card, and selecting Reply (3).
After opening the Comment, you can view previous replies, enter your response, and click the Reply (4) button. The user who created the Comment, all respondents, and any users @mentioned in the reply receive an email notification containing the reply text, Milestone, and Scenario, along with a direct link to the original Comment and its reply thread.
💡Note: Existing replies can be edited or deleted. Click the 3 dot menu (2) on the reply and select Edit (5) or Delete (6) .
Editing an Existing Comment
To edit a Comment, first find the Comment you wish to edit in the list, or single-click the Comment pin in 3D. The list will automatically center on the Comment card and highlight it. Once the Comment card is selected, click the 3 dot menu (1) on the Comment card and click Edit (2).
The following edits can be made to a Comment:
- Reposition the Comment Pin: In the 3D editor the Comment pin will have a move handle (1) attached to it. Click, hold and drag on an axis (X/Y/Z) to reposition the pin.
- Delete Comment: Comments can be deleted while in edit mode by clicking the trash button (2). A prompt will appear for user confirmation before the Comment is deleted. Deleted Comments cannot be restored, consider whether Resolving the Comment is instead a more appropriate action.
- Milestone: By default a Comment is attached to the Milestone that was active when it was created. Clicking the "X" (3) to clear the single Milestone link will instead link the Comment to all Milestones. Use the dropdown (4) to select one specific Milestone, consider retaking the viewpoint.
- Retake Viewpoint: Reposition the view in frame in the 3D editor and click Retake Viewpoint (5) to update the thumbnail image on the Comment card, as well as the viewpoint in 3D that collaborators will see when reviewing the Comment.
- Comment text: Click in the text field (6) to edit the Comment text including @mentions and hyperlinks.
After making your changes, click Save (7). The timestamp on the Comment card is updated.
Resolving a Comment
Resolving a Comment closes the conversation thread and removes the ability to reply. Find and select the Comment you want to resolve. Alternatively, single-click its pin in the 3D Space. The Comments list automatically centers on the corresponding Comment card and highlights it to indicate that it is selected.
Once the Comment card is selected, you can resolve it in any of the following ways:
- Clicking the Resolve button (1) on the Comments Sidesheet Toolbar.
- Clicking the 3 dot menu (2) on the Comment card, and select Resolve (3).
Once resolved, the Comment card moves down the list to follow the oldest unresolved Comment and is tagged as Resolved. In the 3D Space, the pin remains visible and clickable but appears grayed out.
Unresolving a Comment
If a Resolved Comment needs further attention, you can Unresolve it. Find and select the Comment you want to reopen. Alternatively, single-click its pin in the 3D Space. The Comments list automatically centers on the corresponding Comment card and highlights it to indicate that it is selected.
Once the Comment card is selected, you can unresolve it in any of the following ways:
- Clicking the Unresolve (1) button on the left side of the Comments Sidesheet Toolbar.
- Clicking the 3 dot menu (2) on the Comment card, and selecting Unresolve (3).
Once Unresolved, the Comment card moves up in the Comments Sidesheet to its previous position, and the Resolved tag disappears.
Comments
Please sign in to leave a comment.